### **2022 UTCVM Research Day Awards**

#### **Graduate Student Category:**

#### 1<sup>st</sup> Place (tied) - Dr. Kristin Bowers, Comparative & Experimental Medicine

"Mesenchymal stem cell use in acute tendon injury: In vitro tenogenic potential vs. in vivo dose response" Mentor: Dr. David Anderson Travel award of \$500.00

#### 1st Place (tied) – Jeronimo Silva, Comparative & Experimental Medicine

"An interdisciplinary approach to assessing freshwater mussel health and mortality in the Clinch River" Mentors: Drs. Michelle Dennis & Augustin Engman Travel award of \$500.00

#### 3<sup>rd</sup> Place – Dr. Amy Webb, Comparative & Experimental Medicine

"Cytological investigation of brown pigment lesions in mountain star coral (Orbicella faveolata)" Mentor: Dr. Michelle Dennis Travel award of \$200.00

#### **Veterinary Student Category:**

## Phi Zeta Awardee for Excellence in Animal Health Research (1<sup>st</sup> Place) – Taylor Demers, Class of 2025

*"Parasites in wild-caught Notophthalmus viridescens experimentally infected with Batrachochytrium salamandrivorans"* Mentors: Drs. Deb Miller & Wesley Sheley Travel award of \$400.00 & a \$250.00 cash award from Phi Zeta

#### 2<sup>nd</sup> Place – Kendra Rich, Class of 2025

*"Gopher tortoise health assessment"* Mentors: Drs. Deb Miller & Rebecca Hardman Travel award of \$300.00

#### 3<sup>rd</sup> Place – Alex Shanks, Class of 2025

*"Pharmacokinetics of oral clonazepam in commercial swine (Sus scrofa)"* Mentor: Dr. Chiara Hampton Travel award of \$200.00

#### **Top Resident Presentation:**

#### **Dr. Leah Moody, Small Animal Clinical Sciences**

*"Local anesthetic delivery via an indwelling retrobulbar catheter in horses"* Mentor: Dr. Dan Ward



#### **Top Post-Doc Presentation:**

#### Dr. Prachi Namjoshi, Biomedical & Diagnostic Sciences

*"Rickettsial pathogen uses arthropod tryptophan metabolite xanthurenic acid to facilitate tick cell survival"* Mentor: Dr. Girish Neelakanta

#### **Boehringer Ingelheim Faculty Research Mentoring Award:**

Award Recipient: Dr. Deb Miller



# Boehringer Ingelheim

**Zoetis Award for Veterinary Research Excellence:** 

Award Recipient: Dr. Rick Gerhold



