COVID STATUS UPDATE:   Building reopened to clients.

Phi Zeta

Side Menu


From its beginning, it has been the aim of Phi Zeta to stand for constant advancement of the veterinary profession, higher educational requirements, and high scholarship. The objective of the society is to recognize and promote scholarship and research in matters pertaining to the welfare and diseases of animals.

Manuscript Award

The annual Phi Zeta manuscript competition is designed to recognize and promote scholarship and research related to the welfare and diseases of animals. There are two categories: 

  • Basic research
  • Clinical research

The University of Tennessee Phi Chapter is entitled to submit one article in each category to compete for the national awards. 

2022 Phi Chapter Winners

Clinical or Applied Research Category Winner: Dr. Anastasia Towe (with Dr. Matthew Gray, Davis Carter, Dr. Mark Wilber, Dr. Robert Ossiboff, Dr. Kurt Ash Markese Bohanon, Brittany Bajo, and Dr. Debra Miller). “Batrachochytrium salamandrivorans can devour more than salamanders. Journal of Wildlife Diseases. 2021;57(4):942-948. doi: 10.7589/JWD-D-20-00214

Basic Research Category: Dr. BreeAnna Dell (with Drs. Charles Masembe, Richard Gerhold, Adam Wilcox, Chika Okafor, and Marcy Souza). Species misidentification in local markets: Discrepancies between reporting and molecular identification of bushmeat species in northern Uganda. One Health. 2021;13:100251. doi: 10.1016/j.onehlt.2021.100251

Student Award

The Tennessee (Phi) Chapter of Phi Zeta presents a certificate and $250 to a senior veterinary professional student in recognition of outstanding scholastic achievement.

2021 Winners

Margaret Elaine Cheney

Sarah Bell Layne

Award for Excellence in Animal Health Research

During the Comparative & Experimental Medicine Research Symposium, the Phi Chapter provides a certificate and $250 for one presentation that represents Phi Zeta’s goal to excel in scholarship and research in matters pertaining to the welfare and diseases of animals. 

2021 Winner

Julie Bedwani

Phi Chapter Current Officers

  • Dr. Diane Hendrix – President
  • Dr. Luca Giori – Secretary/Treasurer

Phi Chapter Officer and Membership Lists